Fried Dal / Veyinchina Pappu

Fried Dal is one of my all time favorites. I should say my Mom is the main reason behind me cooking this. She has this strange habit of NOT cooking what she extremely likes and this is one on the list. We used to visit my Grandmamma’s place when ever we felt like eating this yummy dish. Unfortunately, my Grandmamma is no more and I have decided to take her place for my Mom. I live in US and my Mom lives back in India, so I really can’t make it when ever she feels like having it,  but I can make it when ever we meet. She was here with me for almost 3 months last year and that was the first time she ever had my Fried Dal (actually my FOOD) because I never actually cooked when I was back in India. So dear friends, I have now decided to give this delicious recipe to all of you so that you can enjoy having this as much as my Mom does. Here it is….


Ingredients:

2-3 tbsp oil

1 1/2 cup Toor dal (Kandi pappu) – Do not wash

1 large Onion finely chopped

1 whole Garlic (10-12 cloves) – minced and smashed

1 tsp Cumin seeds (Jilakarra)

1 tsp Fenugreek seeds (Menthulu)

8-10 dry red chillis

1 tsp Coriander seeds (Dhaniyalu) – Optional

3 large Tomatoes finely chopped

8-10 Curry leaves

1 tbsp Tamarind (Lemon sized)

salt (to taste)

Coriander to garnish

  • Heat oil in a pressure cooker, add cumin seeds, fenugreek seeds, red chillis, coriander seeds, curry leaves, garlic, onion, dal (unwashed) and fry them on a low flame till dal turns brown.
  • Add tomatoes and saute till they become soft.
  • Add 5-6 cups water (more if needed) and drop tamarind in the water (do NOT mix). Pressure cook up to 3 whistles and turn off the heat.
  • Once pressure is off, remove lid, add salt and smash it. Garnish with coriander and serve hot with rice.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Geetha Prabhu
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 12:48:37

    I really love this dish. I am glad that you have taken my mom’s place for me 🙂 I just had my happy tears rolling down… Love you and Miss you sweetheart!

    Your first comment from your loving Mommy 🙂
    Geetha Prabhu

    Reply

  2. viji
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 09:50:18

    Great!. Tasty Food Recipes… Log On: (viji’s Food Recipes) http://www.freefoodrecipe.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. umamithun
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 15:37:15

    The recipe sounds interesting…..the dal looks lovely. Will give it a try 🙂

    Reply

  4. Anu
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 22:37:04

    Wow… I tried this recipe yesterday and it was the best dal dish I ever had. Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

    Reply

  5. Bindu
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 11:29:29

    Tried this and my whole family loved it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

